return to newsletter home page

Elections in Progress: Your Input is Welcome

ASBA's Nominations and Elections Committee has announced the following slate of candidates for Association officers and directors:

Track Division President (2-year term)
Don Smith, CTB
Don Smith, CTB, LLC, LEED A-P
Denver, CO

Indoor Division President (2-year term)
John Gayhart
Mondo America, Inc.
Laval, QC Canada

Randy Niese
Robbins Sports Surfaces
Cincinnati, OH

Professional Division President (2-year term)
Chris Sullivan, RLA
Verde Design, Inc.
Folsom, CA

Builder Director (3-year term) (2 positions open)
Kristoff Eldridge, CTB
Cape & Island Tennis & Track
Pocasset, MA

Rob Delmonico, CFB
R.A.D. Sports
Rockland, MA

Linn Lower, CTCB
Lower Bros. CO.
Birmingham, AL

Matt Strom, CTCB
Leslie Coatings
Indianapolis, IN

Brian Wright, CTCB
Court One
Granite Quarry, NC

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can I nominate someone whose name doesn't appear above?
Answer: Yes, members may make additional nominations in writing, endorsed in writing by one other member, to the administrative office of the Association. The deadline for all nominations to be received is the close of business (5 p.m. Eastern time) on July 30, 2012.

Can I vote for everyone on the slate?
Answer: No, only members entitled to vote in a given election may nominate or endorse a candidate for that election. In other words, only Builders may nominate or endorse a candidate for Builder Director or Tennis or Track Division President, only Suppliers may nominate or endorse a candidate for Supplier Director or Supplier Division President, and so on.

Can I nominate two people from the same company?
Answer: No. No person may be a candidate for the Board of Directors or for any given position if the election of such person could cause any member company to have more than one employee serving as an officer or director of the Association at the same time.

What are the qualifications to run for office?
Answer: Candidates for the following positions must meet these qualifications:

Tennis Division President – The Tennis Division President must be a Builder member.

Fields Division President – The Fields Division President must be a Builder member.

Supplier Division President – The Supplier Division President must be a Supplier member.

Builder, Professional & Supplier Directors – Each Director at the time of election and throughout the term shall be a member or an employee or partner of a company that is a member of that Division.

Will we be mailed our ballots?
Answer: No. The election will be conducted via online vote. Ballots will be e-mailed no later than August 1, 2012 to the principal member representing each member company as listed on the Association’s rolls.

What is the deadline?
Answer: Ballots must be received in the Association’s office by close of business (5 p.m. Eastern time) August 31, 2012 in order to be counted.

How many votes are needed?
Answer: The ballots of a quorum of the membership (20%) must be received, and the candidate receiving a majority of the votes cast for each position will be elected. If necessary, a runoff election will be conducted.

When does the new board take office?
Answer: Successful candidates will take office immediately following the Technical Meeting in December 2012.

What is involved with being on the board?
Answer: Board members are expected to attend meetings at the Technical and Winter meetings. The board also meets in the summer in Baltimore. Conference calls may be held during the year between these meetings if something needs to be discussed. In addition, each board member is responsible for following up on assignments given at all meetings. Therefore, serving on the board involves a substantial amount of time. There is also a component of expense, since board members are responsible for the costs of their own travel, meals, lodging and incidentals while at meetings.

Who's already on the board?
Answer: The following board members will continue to serve after the elections, as their terms are ongoing:

Chairman, Mark Brogan, CTCB (Pro Sport Construction)
Tennis Division President, Pete Smith, CTCB (The CourtSMITHs)
Fields Division President, Dan Wright, CFB (Sports Turf Company)
Supplier Division President, Rob Righter (Nova Sports USA)
Treasurer, Jim Catella, CFB, CTB (Clark Companies)
Directors Ben Brooks (Patriot Court Systems, Inc.)
Mike Edgerton, CTCB (Copeland Coatings)
Bruce Haroldson (Connor Sports Flooring)
Chris Rossi (Premier Concepts)
Chris Sullivan, RLA (Verde Design, Inc.)
John Schedler, CFB, CTB (FieldTurf Tarkett).

If I have other questions....
Answer: Procedural questions regarding nominations or elections should be addressed to the Chair of the Nominating and Elections Committee, Mike Edgerton, CTCB, at 518-766-2932 or to Fred Stringfellow, CAE, Executive Director, at 443-640-1042, x102. 

© 2012 American Sports Builders Association 

8480 Baltimore National Pike #307 • Ellicott City, MD 21043 • 410-730-9595 •

Share This Article

Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on LinkedIn

Click on the icons above to share this article with your social networks.