return to newsletter home page

Elections in Progress: Your Input is Welcome

ASBA's Nominations and Elections Committee has announced the following slate of candidates for Association officers and directors:

Tennis Division President (2-year term)
Pete Smith, CTCB
The CourtSMITHs
Toledo, OH

Fields Division President (2-year term)
Dan Wright, CFB
Sports Turf Co., Inc.
Whitesburg, GA

Supplier Division President (2-year term)
Rob Righter
Nova Sports USA, Inc.
Milford, MA

Builder Director (3-year term) (1 position open)
Ben Brooks
Patriot Court Systems, Inc.
Houston, TX

Supplier Director (3-year term) (1 position open)
Michael Burke
NGI Sports, Div. of River City Athletics, LLC
Chattanooga, TN

Professional Director (3-year term) (1 position open)
Chris Sullivan
Verde Design, Inc.
Santa Clara, CA

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can I nominate someone whose name doesn't appear above?
Answer: Yes, members may make additional nominations in writing, endorsed in writing by one other member, to the administrative office of the Association. The deadline for all nominations to be received is the close of business (5 p.m. Eastern time) on July 30, 2011.

Can I vote for everyone on the slate?
Answer: No, only members entitled to vote in a given election may nominate or endorse a candidate for that election. In other words, only Builders may nominate or endorse a candidate for Builder Director or Tennis or Track Division President, only Suppliers may nominate or endorse a candidate for Supplier Director or Supplier Division President, and so on.

Can I nominate two people from the same company?
Answer: No. No person may be a candidate for the Board of Directors or for any given position if the election of such person could cause any member company to have more than one employee serving as an officer or director of the Association at the same time.

What are the qualifications to run for office?
Answer: Candidates for the following positions must meet these qualifications:

Tennis Division President – The Tennis Division President must be a Builder member.

Fields Division President – The Fields Division President must be a Builder member.

Supplier Division President – The Supplier Division President must be a Supplier member.

Builder, Professional & Supplier Directors – Each Director at the time of election and throughout the term shall be a member or an employee or partner of a company that is a member of that Division.

Will we be mailed our ballots?
Answer: No. For the first time, the election will be conducted via online vote. Ballots will be emailed no later than August 1, 2011 to the principal member representing each member company as listed on the Association’s rolls.

What is the deadline?
Answer: Ballots must be received in the Association’s office by close of business (5 p.m. Eastern time) August 31, 2011 in order to be counted.

How many votes are needed?
Answer: The ballots of a quorum of the membership (20%) must be received, and the candidate receiving a majority of the votes cast for each position will be elected. If necessary, a runoff election will be conducted.

When does the new board take office?
Answer: Successful candidates will take office immediately following the Technical Meeting in December 2011.

Who's already on the board?
Answer: The following board members will continue to serve after the elections, as their terms are ongoing:

Chairman, Sam Fisher, CTB (Fisher Tracks, Inc.)
Track Division President, Kristoff Eldridge, CTB (Cape & Island Tennis & Track)
Fields Division President, Dan Wright, CFB (Sports Turf Company)
Indoor Division President, Randy Niese (Robbins Sports Surfaces)
Professional Division President, Ed Norton, RLA, ASLA (Holcombe Norton Partners)
Treasurer, David Nielsen, (Leslie Coatings, Inc.)
Directors: Rob Delmonico, CFB (R.A.D. Sports)
Mike Edgerton, CTCB (Copeland Coatings)
Bruce Haroldson (Connor Sports Flooring)
Ben Rennolds, CTCB (Tennis Courts, Inc.)
John Schedler, CFB, CTB (Atlas Track & Tennis).

If I have other questions....
Answer: Procedural questions regarding nominations or elections should be addressed to the Chair of the Nominating and Elections Committee, Pete Smith, at 419-531-6292 or Fred Stringfellow, CAE, Executive Director, at 443-640-1030, x102. 

© 2011 American Sports Builders Association 

8480 Baltimore National Pike #307 • Ellicott City, MD 21043 • 410-730-9595 •

Share This Article

Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on LinkedIn

Click on the icons above to share this article with your social networks.