News from the American Sports Builders Association                                                        January 2016

return to newsletter home page

New ASBA Officers, Directors Take Office

Dan Wright, CFB (left) passes the ASBA chairman’s gavel to Pete Smith, CTCB.

At its 2015 Technical Meeting in Scottsdale, ASBA announced the results of its election. New officers and directors took office at the conclusion of the meeting. The new board includes:

Pete Smith is the new Chairman of ASBA. Smith, who previously served as president of the Tennis Division, has been active in the Association on multiple levels, including serving on committees, speaking at meetings, reviewing technical articles and working on Association projects. He is a Certified Tennis Court Builder (CTCB). Smith works with The CourtSMITHs in Toledo, Ohio.

Other individuals elected or re-elected to positions on the board are:

  • Tennis Division President: Mike Edgerton, CTCB ((Copeland Coatings, Inc., Nassau, NY),

  • Field Division President: Jim Catella, CFB, CTCB (Clark Companies, Delhi, NY)

  • Supplier Division President: Chris Rossi (California Sports Surfaces, Andover, MA)

  • Board of Directors members, Builder Division: Paul Nagle, CTB, (Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc., Syracuse, NY), Bob Cohen, CFB-S, CTB (Robert Cohen Co., LLC, Albuquerque, NM)

Officers continuing on the Board of Directors in their current positions will be Professional Division President Chris Sullivan, RLA (Verde Design, Folsom, CA), Track Division President Troy Rudolph, CFB, CTB, CTCB (Elite Sports Builders, Phoenix, AZ), Indoor Division President Joe Covington, Jr. (Covington Flooring Co., Inc., Birmingham, AL), Secretary/Treasurer Linn Lower, CTCB (Lower Bros. Co., Inc., Birmingham, AL) and Secretary/Treasurer-Elect Ed Norton, RLA, ASLA (Holcombe Norton Partners, Birmingham, AL.)

Individuals continuing on the board in their current director positions include Ben Brooks (Patriot Court Systems, Inc., Houston, Texas), Megan Buczynski, PE, LEED AP (Activitas, Inc., Dedham, MA), Randy Futty (California Sports Surfaces, Andover, MA), Mark Heinlein, CFB (Turf Reclamation Solutions, LLC, Cincinnati, OH), David Moxley (Sportsfield Specialties, Inc., Delhi, NY) and Matt Strom, CTCB (Leslie Coatings, Inc., Indianapolis, IN.)

Dan Wright, CFB (Sports Turf Company, Whitesburg, GA) will remain on the board in the position of Past Chairman.

© 2016 American Sports Builders Association 

9 Newport Drive, Suite 200 • Forest Hill, MD 21050 • 410-730-9595 •

Share This Article

Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on LinkedIn

Click on the icons above to share this article with your social networks.

Important Links

ASBA Leadership