return to newsletter home page

Good Sports at the Technical Meeting

The Technical Meeting itself is a great place to work together for the good of the industry. Participants can check their competitive natures at the door and forget all about rivalries.

Well, they might check them at the meeting room doors, but nobody said anything about the golf course. Or the tennis courts. The 2010 (held in Sawgrass, a Mecca for both tennis and golf) provided some key opportunities to gain (or regain) bragging rights -- which should be good at least until next year's Technical Meeting (or at the very least, the Winter Meeting). Here's a quick recap of the action.

Golf Tournament: Players Stadium Course at Sawgrass

This year's Golf Tournament was held on Friday, December 3 at the Players Stadium Course at Sawgrass. John Welborn of Lee Tennis and Tom Hinding of Hinding Tennis co-chaired the event, which drew a sell-out crowd. (Missed out on this year's event and want to play next time around? Book early).

The competition took place under sunny skies, but in cooler temps than might have been expected of Florida. When the dust settled, the foursome of Rob Werner (Sportsline, Inc.), Mark Brogan (Pro-Sport Construction, Inc.), John Schedler (Atlas Track & Tennis) and Pete Smith (The CourtSMITHS) had come in first. Second place went to the foursome of Paul Nagle (Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc.), Phil Schiavone (Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc.), Serge Silva (Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc.), and Evan Veney (Nagle Athletic Surfaces, Inc.).

Other awards were as follows: Closest to Pin: John Hanna (RSI Magazine) for the men, and Isabel Wright Armacell, LLC for the women. Longest Drive was won by Mike Smoak (Sportsfield Specialties, Inc.).

Tennis Tournament: Sawgrass Country Club

The soft courts of the Sawgrass Country Club were the site of this year's Tennis Tournament, which took place on Saturday, December 4. Randy Futty and Pat Hanssen (both of Lee Tennis) co-chaired the event. Sunny skies prevailed for the afternoon event.

Players were divided into two groups: Red and Green. The Red Group winners were Dan Wright (Sports Turf Company, Inc.) and Todd Dettor (FDC-The Fast-Dry Company), with finalists Bill Bishop (Strassner Tennis Court Bldrs.) and Ed Montecalvo (Lee Tennis).

The Green Group winners were Chris Allen (Aer-Flo) and Pat Hanssen (Lee Tennis). Finalists were John Hanna (RSI Magazine) and Randy Futty (Lee Tennis).

Itching for some payback? Need to establish bragging rights? Just want to defend your title? There's more golf and tennis tournaments to come: the Winter Meeting, scheduled for February 11-13 in the Bahamas, will include both events, as will the next Technical Meeting, to be held Dec. 1-6 in Palm Desert, California. ASBA members will receive information automatically, but others can request to be added to the list by contacting the Association directly at 866-501-ASBA (2722), or by going to the web site,

2011 American Sports Builders Association 

8480 Baltimore National Pike #307 Ellicott City, MD 21043 410-730-9595

Share This Article

Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Share on LinkedIn

Click on the icons above to share this article with your social networks.

Links from this Article

Inside the Numbers at ASBA's Technical Meeting


Presentations from the Technical Meeting in Ponte Vedra


ASBA Events